Skip to Content


Political Studies Association of Ireland



Fellows of the Political Studies Association of Ireland shall be elected to Fellowship at the Annual General Meeting in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the mission of the Association.
Nominations for Fellowship must have the majority endorsement of the Executive Committee before a motion for their election can be placed before an Annual General Meeting. They must then be elected by a two-thirds majority of those attending the Annual General Meeting of the Association.
Fellows shall be elected to two-year terms, and shall give a lecture to the Annual General Meeting during their terms. Fellows shall enjoy all the rights and responsibilities of Full Members of the Association during their terms, but shall not be liable for payment of annual subscriptions during that time.

The first Fellow was elected at the 2007 AGM on the occasion of the 25th Anniversary of the PSAI.

To date the Fellowship has been awarded as follows:


  • 2021-2023: John Coakley (UCD) and Michael Gallagher (TCD)
  • 2019-2021: Prof. Kenneth R. Carty, The University of British Columbia
  • 2017-2019: Prof. Jennifer Todd, UCD
  • 2015-2017: Prof. Yvonne Gallilgan, Queens University Belfast
  • 2013-2015: Prof. Michael Marsh, Trinity College Dublin
  • 2011-2013: Prof. Michael Laver, New York University
  • 2009-2011: Prof. Paul Arthur, University of Ulster
  • 2007-2009: Prof. Tom Garvin, UCD